Observing an Anniversary

Nikki2

Nikki Lisa A. Wisniewski

For the past few years, June has brought mixed emotions to my soul.  These emotions stem from the loss of my beloved German shepherd, Nikki.  It was in mid to late June of 2009 that Nikki became ill rather suddenly.  A trip to the vet helped, but did not resolve all of Nikki’s health issues.  A second trip to the vet revealed some devastating news:  a mass in Nikki’s lung and blood in her spleen.  Nikki passed away in my arms on July 2, 2009.

Though time has helped me to deal with the emotions, I still feel a sense of loss.  However, I also still feel a connection to her, a sense of her presence in my heart and within my mind that offers comfort and peace.  The relationship we shared was beyond special–it was a blessing of priceless value.

Nikki taught me much about accepting change in nature, life, and circumstances.  She helped to foster my interest in nature and the outdoors.  We spent many, many hours outside in all kinds of weather.  What mattered most to us was being active together, but Nikki did manage to get me to rest as well.

Sharing Our Story

Nikki Jean Book CoverAfter some thought, I decided to share the story of how Nikki and I met and how her presence in my life played a major role in shaping my character.  This story is available through WestBow Press, a division of Thomas Nelson and Zondervan.  If you would like to learn more about the book, please click here.

Thank you for your interest in my writing and for your support.  I very much appreciate the feedback and comments readers have given, and I hope to continue writing and posting information that is helpful, pleasing, and interesting to my readers.

-Lisa

 

One thought on “Observing an Anniversary

Leave a Reply

